EPF Voluntary Contribution (I-Saraan)

Mar 22, 2021

EPF Voluntary Contribution (I-Saraan) 

Securing Retirement With Voluntary Contribution

Voluntary Contribution with Retirement Incentive (i-Saraan) allows our members who are self-employed and do not earn a regular income to make voluntary contributions towards your retirement, and at the same time receive additional contribution from the government.

Retirement Incentive (i-Saraan)

As a member under this incentive, you will receive a 15% government contribution (a maximum of RM250/year [Effective 1 Jan 2018]) on top of your own contributions.

*Not applicable to members that receive a fixed employer contribution.
*Government contribution is limited to members who are below age 55.



  • Retirement avenue for those who are self-employed or do not earn a regular income
  • Contribute according to your own time and within your own financial ability and still be able to make withdrawals
  • Earn annual EPF dividend on your retirement savings
  • Receive additional special incentive of 15% subject to a maximum of RM250 annually for members aged below 55 years old. The special incentive will be given from year 2018 until 2022.
  • Death Benefit: RM2,500
    * subject to EPF terms and conditions


Who Can Apply


Malaysian Citizen

Malaysian Citizen

Self-employed individuals

Self-employed individuals

Who derive income from own work and are not an employee

EPF Member

Registered EPF Member

Below 55 years of age


Opted to contribute under i-Saraan

Submitted Form KWSP 16G(M)

Important Reminder: Housewives are only allowed to opt for one (1) incentive at a time. If you have registered for Insentif Suri (i-Suri) earlier, you would need to cancel it before reapplying for i-Saraan. However this is depending on your eligibility.


Payment Methods and Channels

 Internet Banking (Online transfer)

  • Maybank
  • Public Bank
  • RHB Bank
  • Bank Muamalat
  • CIMB Bank
  • Bank Islam

Bank Agent Counters (Cash/cheque)

EPF Counters

Cash (RM500 maximum) / cheque at all EPF counters in state capital including KWSP Muar


Payment Limit

Minimum (RM only)

No limit

Maximum (RM only)

RM60,000 yearly for all Voluntary Contribution
(Self Contribution, i-Saraan, i-Suri, Top-up Savings Contribution – effective January 2013)


What You Need

  • MyKad
  • i-Saraan Form - KWSP 16G (M) (Only for first time registration)
  • Payment in cash and cheque or through internet banking (form not required).


Source from: https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution/i-saraan

Like / follow our Facebook Page / LinkedIn for any statutory / HR updates. 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MYwaveMalaysia/    or    https://www.facebook.com/emplx/

LinkedIn: Company: MYwave Sdn Bhd

Comments: 0
Leave a Reply

No comments